Tags

, , , , , ,

A few days ago, I finished reading ‘The Hobbit’ by J R R Tolkien and took up ‘the Lord of the Rings’ trilogy also by J R R Tolkien.

This incident happened while I was reading ‘The Fellowship of the Ring’ (part 1). I was reading at night and I started dozing. After some time, I switched off the reader and went to sleep.

The next day, I opened the reader and found that I was already on chapter two of the book. I do not recollect reading Bilbo’s parting speech and him leaving the party at all.  Having read the book many years ago and also having watched the movies, I knew that part of the story.

It seems that I read that portion of the story only with my eyes and not with my mind – I was only turning pages, with no part of the story registering with my brain.

