Tags

, , ,

A few evenings ago, a Plain Tiger butterfly flew into my house. I was pretty excited and took out my DSLR for a few pictures. As it was dark outside, the room was lit with a tube-light. I was shooting on aperture mode.

To add some brightness to the scene, I decided to use a mobile as a flashlight (to light the subject). One of the images I got was this.

Plain Tiger As Shot

Plain Tiger As Shot

I was planning to delete the image but decided to play with the settings. I dropped the image into a RAW photo editor and played around with the settings.

Plain Tiger Highlights Adjusted

Plain Tiger Highlights Adjusted

One of the settings was for ‘Highlights’. I set the value to zero and this is what I got.

Just for comparison, here is another image that I shot without the flashlight.

Plain Tiger

Plain Tiger

It was pretty amazing. A totally unexpected result. I am sure that many people will advise me against such action, but I am pleased with the effect.

Now, I need to understand how that parameter affects images.

