Tags

, , ,

As I navigate the Internet, I have the habit of collecting URLs for future reference (as if I refer them later).

After trying multiple arrangements over the years, I have settled on using a relatively simple method storage. I use a text file and prefix each URL with labels. Labeling the URLs helps me recollect the broad topic at a later stage.

Given that it is not possible to surf for one topic throughout the day, I invariably collect URLs on multiple topics, which are stored one after the other. On this arrangement, all URLs are equal.

Once the URLs collection becomes sufficiently large and sufficiently mixed up, I sort the data alphabetically.

The sort operation has a side effect. In the original layout, if a URL has multiple labels, then I consider each label to be equally important. But, the sort creates a hierarchy, that gives more importance to the character set.

Thus, if I have marked a topic with the labels ‘photography, discuss’ and marked another as ‘discuss, camera’, the second entry will appear earlier in the sorted text.

Thus, it can happen that if I label similar things differently (probably due to habit or mood of the day), even though they have been visited on the same day, they will move apart from each other after the sort operation.

As an example, consider this link — Canon 700D review | http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/digital-cameras/53528/canon-700d-review. Presently I have labeled it as ‘gadgets, camera, review, canon, 700d’. But, if I change the order to say ‘camera, gadgets, canon, review, 700d’, this link will move to a different location in the file after sorting.

Thus, while I (try to) label the links without bias, the fact that I have started sorting the data introduces a bias such that similar data will appear together. By labeling it in a certain way ensures that all Canon camera reviews will get bunched together, followed by the Nikon reviews, the Olympus reviews, the Panasonic reviews, the Sony reviews, and so on.

