Tags

, , ,

After having ordered a set of four diopter lenses for the Canon 700D (The diopter test – https://twentymegahertz.wordpress.com/2016/06/05/the-diopter-test/), I wanted to be a bit more cautious while considering extension tubes. For people not familiar with the camera add-ons, both – diopter lens and extension tube – are considered to be a the cheaper alternative to purchasing a macro lens.

After having looked at pictures produced by people using extension tubes, I wanted to try the same for myself. But I did not go and immediately order a set from the Internet. I wanted to check if the technique did really work.

Hence, I decided to try something at home. I disconnected the 18-55mm lens from the camera. Then I took out a piece of black craft paper (matte) and rolled it around the lens, which was set to the 55mm setting and the focus was also pulled out the farthest. The paper was rolled such that a portion of it was sticking out behind the lens – around 7cm – effectively creating a paper cylinder behind the lens.

Then I placed a coin on the floor and switched on the camera. To take a picture, I brought this lens setup in front of the camera and placed it over the lens attachment opening. Carefully holding the lens in one hand and the camera in the other, I tried to locate the coin and get it into focus. Then I shot off a few pictures.

paper-extensio-tube

Paper Extension Tube

Based on this experiment, I can state that the extension tube does help magnify the object being photographed.

Now the more important question – should I go for an electronic version or a non-electronic version, as the electronic version gives maximum flexibility but it around 15 times costlier than the non-electronic version.

