Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday, before filling my tank with petrol, I topped up the air in the tyres. While I regularly follow the practice of topping up the air in the tyres, I am henceforth going to call it the ‘Obama Top-up’? Why?

If I remember correctly, President Obama, had mentioned during his presidential campaign for the first term, that American car owners would benefit and save money by simply ensuring that their cars has the recommended air pressure in the tyres.

While there were many sniggers in the media on this remark, I can say from personal experience that keeping the tyres at the recommended pressure goes a long way. Not only is the car more responsive during turns, it also moves lightly and easily on straight roads. This is because there is less resistance from under-filled tyres. Additionally, tyres with the right pressure means less wear and tear for the tyre.

