Tags

, , , , ,

During my change from a Kodak DX6490, I had considered the Nikon P610. But I went with a Canon 700D due to biggest factor of camera size. While researching suitable cameras, I came across the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000. At that point in time, I had scoffed at its specifications – only 16x, as opposed to Nikon P610’s massive 60x. It was only later I realized that the 1 inch sensor of the Panasonic would have been a decisive factor for image quality when compared to the 1/2.3 inch sensor of the Nikon.

After using the Canon 700D for the last six months, I would like to recommend that people consider the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 in place of a DSLR. Why? With the DSLR, we need to keep changing lenses for various shots. In the case of vacation photography, it can become tedious to change lenses while out visiting locations.

The only downsize of this recommendation (at least in India) is that the cost of the camera is almost 1.5 times the cost of a mid range DSLR.

Disclaimer: I have never used the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 while making this recommendation, but am still recommending it, considering that it is a bridge camera with a larger sensor size as well as many handy features of a bridge camera.

