Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A few days ago, I wanted to compare the output of the Canon EOS and Kodak DX 6490.

The Kodak view range is 38mm to 380mm. On the Canon, the range is 18-55mm and 55-250mm. In comparison to the Kodak, this range is different and a bit lesser, as I am interested in taking pictures of objects that are further away.

As I have read that the mm of the camera decides how much of the scene is captured, I wanted to compare the images from the two cameras. I identified a suitably far object and got down to work. I took a few photos at the larger range (380mm) using the Kodak as well as the Canon (250mm).

On comparing the photos, I noted that the view captured by both cameras is nearly same. Initially, I was puzzled, but then I went through the view range numbers once again. As the Canon EOS camera has a crop factor of 1.6, the view at 250mm effectively captures the same view as at 400mm. Please note that this value is NOT the same as that captured by a real 400mm lens on a full frame camera. In my case, only the view is cropped. On a full frame camera, the photo will capture a wider portion of the target area.

In my case, the higher range of the Kodak, at 380mm, is comparable to the view captured by the Canon at the 250mm range (effectively becoming 400mm). Thus, if I consider the combined output of the two lenses, I can capture scenes between starting from 28.8mm up to 400mm.

Ego double satisfied!!!

Link

10x magnification – https://twentymegahertz.wordpress.com/2016/03/26/10x-maginification/

