Tags

,

One of the reasons I decided to change my digital camera was its inability to focus very close into objects. For many years, I have tried close-up photography using the macro mode of the camera.

I am happy to have switched to a DSLR, given its picture quality (for people and landscapes), but am disappointed with its close-up capabilities, as the kit lenses allow only 1:3 magnification. Now that I have come to understand that macro photography needs special lenses that allow 1:1 shots, on looking at the investment needed for a dedicated macro lens, I am wondering if the lens is really meant for an amateur like me. I like to shoot close-ups, but I know that my photography is for my self only and I have no intention to make a sale of any photographs. Also, most of my photographs will never achieve the quality achieved by professional photographers and many of the photos we see on the Internet.

