Tags

, ,

Recently, Google made a change such that even in ‘development’ mode, we are not allowed to install extensions from our local machines. In the ‘interest of safety’, Google has decreed that all extensions have to now come from their site – for which we need to pay a one time fee of $5.

It so happens that I have written an extension for Mozilla Firefox which I recently ported to Google Chrome. Now, I am not able to use this extension without paying $5.

While in the normal scheme of things, it would not have mattered due to browser choice, Mozilla Firefox has stopped behaving properly on my work computer. As using Internet Explorer would mean that I would have to go back to the old style of bookmarking, Google Chrome is my only sane choice – but that too Google Chrome 33. I will not update the browser to later versions and thus avoid Google’s block on using local extension.

