Tags

, , ,

Quite some time ago, I started a good practice – that if taking backup of important data onto a portable hard disk.

When I started with this activity, I used to simplest of methods – that of selecting all the files using Windows explorer and dropping them on to the destination folder. While this technique works file, it has two problems – the time taken for the backup and retention of deleted files.

Windows Explorer is a simple tool for copying. It blindly takes all the files and copies them to the destination. If files exist, it asks for permission before overwriting them – the action in such cases invariably is that of pressing the ‘Yes’ button. There is no scope for selection. The only alternative is to compare each file and directory and copy it.

The second problem is that of deleted files. If files are deleted on the desktop, the copy operation is not aware of this fact and hence such files continue to remain on the portable drive.

In short, I was looking for directory synchronization rather than simple copy. This need it not addressed by Windows Explorer.

In another post, I will share my experience with synchronization software.

